• Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
  • RSS
  • Firearm Safety and Training (16 yrs. and up)

    Growing up Gun Safe

    Instructor: Dan Southard; Victoria Willhite; Brian Kowalski; Sharon Varble and Phil Wong Do you own firearms and/or have kids? We’ll go over safety with handguns, shotguns and rifles in this class. In this class we take the mystery out of the firearm so that your child knows it is a deadly weapon and not a toy. Half of the class is spend in the classroom going over safety rules and answering any questions. Half of the class is on range shooting. Parents must accompany their child. Please visit www.gatorfarmtactical.com for more detailed class descriptions and equipment lists.
    Class Code Location Dates Time Fee
    3-070DS SERP Sat 6/7 Noon-4:00 p.m. $75

    Handgun Safety Seminar/Handgun Selection

    Instructor: Dan Southard, Victoria Willhite, Brian Kowalski, Sharon Varble and Phil Wong
    Our Handgun Safety Seminar is 6 hours of range and classroom designed to teach the armed citizen or those thinking of becoming armed citizens how to safely handle handguns and the laws regarding carrying and possessing handguns in the state of Arizona. When the Safety Seminar is done, students will have the option to stay for an added session about selecting a handgun that will fit property and work well for the individual. There is a $5.00 ammunition fee payable at the class. Please visit www.gatorfarmtactical.com for more detailed class descriptions and equipment lists.

    Class Code Location Dates Time Fee
    3-055DS SERP Sat 5/3 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m. $75
    3-256DS AVE Fri 5/16 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m. $75
    3-056DS SERP Sun 6/8 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m. $75
    3-257DS AVE Fri 6/13 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m. $75
    4-055DS SERP Sat 7/12 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m. $75

    Inter-Agency Training

    Instructor: Dan Southard, Victoria Willhite, Brian Kowalski, Sharon Varble and Phil Wong
    This is the dynamic intermediate/advanced course of fire taught for a number of years at Ft. Huachuca and other LE/Agencies. The course is divided into 2 days with increasing intensity every drill. Body armor is required for the second day. This course is open to civilians who are CCW holders. 500 rounds of handgun and 30 rounds of shotgun slugs are required. Please visit www.gatorfarmtactical.com for more detailed class descriptions and equipment lists.

    Class Code Location Dates Time Fee
    3-065DS SERP Sat & Sun 5/24 & 5/25 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m. $200

    Legal Issues of CCW

    Instructor: Dan Southard, Victoria Willhite, Brian Kowalski, Sharon Varble and Phil Wong
    This course goes well beyond the necessary requirements of the State of Arizona to carry a concealed weapon. Arizona Law relating to use of a handgun is covered. The course includes both classroom study and range time. A written test and a handgun qualification must be passed to receive a certificate to apply for a CCW permit. Please visit www.gatorfarmtactical.com for more detailed class descriptions and equipment lists.

    Class Code Location Dates Time Fee
    3-060DS SERP Sun 5/4 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m. $75
    3-061DS SERP Sat 6/21 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m. $75
    4-060DS SERP Sun 7/13 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m. $75
    4-061DS SERP Sun 8/3 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m. $75

    Practical Handgun

    Instructor: Dan Southard, Victoria Willhite, Brian Kowalski, Sharon Varble and Phil Wong
    Learn basic carry methods, how to draw from a holster, tactical reloads, how and when to carry your handgun. Most of the day will be spent on the range in multiple positions firing from dominate and non-dominate hand. You must bring your carry gun, holster, magazine carrier and 250 rounds of ammunition. Please visit www.gatorfarmtactical.com for more detailed class descriptions and equipment lists.

    Class Code Location Dates Time Fee
    3-067DS SERP Sat 6/28 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m. $100

    County Employees Only

    Women’s Basic Pistol Firearm Safety Training

    Registration and payment must be received by June 11, 2014.
    Lisa Uthe mail stop: NRPR-FL1-CB158, or
    NRPR, Attn: Lisa Uthe 3500 West River Rd. Tucson, AZ 85741

    Instructors: Tony Luceri,  NRA Certified Training Counselor/Chief Range Safety Officer (CRS0); John Hoyle, NRA Certified Instructor; Mark Mastriani, NRA Certified Instructor; Dave Daughtry, NRA Certified Instructor
    This class is open to female County Employees’ only and is focused on the beginner shooter interested in pistol shooting. Students will receive instruction on gun handling safety, range safety, basic shooting fundamentals, and laser pistol classroom training techniques and actual live fire. Instructors will assist students in proper technique and the shooting fundamentals during live fire drills. Students are asked to bring their own firearm and 50 rounds of ammunition. Calibers should be limited to 22 LR / 9 mm / 38 special /40 S&W / 45 ACP. If a student does not have a firearm, advise when registering. Students who do not own a firearm Southeast Regional Park Shooting Range will provide a 22LR semi-automatic and ammunition. Eye and ear protection will be provided to all shooters. Students under age 18 must be accompanied by an adult.

    Class Code Location Dates Time Fee
    3-003PC SERP Sat 6/14 7:45 a.m.-2:00 $30

    Follow UsShare this page

    Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation

    3500 W. River Road
    Tucson, AZ 85741

    (520) 724-5000


    Department Home Page
    Department News
    Department Directory
    Department Feedback Form
    Department Calendar
    Reservations
    Search Maps
    Boards, Commissions and Committees